Quaker Meditation

Quaker Meditation

I enter the silence of the meeting. I sit with my finger tips touching and my back straight in good eastern cross legged position.
I focus on the Inner Space. With my eyes closed i feel as tho the space behind my eyeballs is one with that in which all the others present also exist.
The space outside my eyeballs and the space inside my eyeballs are the same space, shaped by the material presence of me and others. The inside is unified, the outside is an experience of separate identity.
Look up into a tree. It shapes the space which is and is not the same space within the branches and beyond the branches.
I focus on the ball of space created between my hands. It has a separate identity from the rest of the space and yet is the same space.
I feel the presence of the greater space surrounding me, the meeting house, the city , world, universe. Always my mind experiences boundaries which both contain and divide.
This paradox applies to time also.
The present moment contains distant past and far future. In the past I was not but space was. In the past humanity was not but space was. In the future I will not be, but this space i experience will be the same as now. In the future humanity will know itself to be more than physical and/or it will have ceased to exist.
All material forms cease to exist. Space is energy, Inner Chi, consciousness – wordless, quiet experience of being. Joy, bliss and radical acceptance.
The meeting is over and we become ourselves with little lives to live. I am glad to experience the peace which is possible.dove

Leave a Reply

